1922 General Election: Questions to and replies from unsuccessful Parliamentary candidates

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 106 AMS/B/02/07
  • Former Reference
      GB 106 A3 Box 1 of 2 (JB36)
  • Dates of Creation
  • Physical Description
      2 folders

Scope and Content

Questionnaires returned from unsuccessful candidates regarding their views on solicitation laws some signed or with accompanying letter and/or election leaflets


Wyndham Albery

Mary Allen

Robert Alstead

John Baker

F Bartle

Mr J Bell

Mr Black

WJ Brown (with letter)

John Bruce

W Burton

JH Clynes (letter)

Norman Coates

CJ Cooke-Taylor (letter)

Margaret Corbett Ashby (letters)

Mr Coysh

Thomas Crawford

Gilbert Dale

Sidney Drury-Lowe (with letter and Parliamentary election leaflet)

Edward Duke

Fleming Eccles

FS Evans

MOH Finborough

Lambert Fletcher (with letters)

Lieutenant Commander Fletcher

Helen Fraser

Alec Frith

W Gallacher

Thomas Gill

EH Gilpin

AG Goseling

Mrs Gould (with Parliamentary election leaflet)

AG Gourd

G Ralph Hall Caine

Mr EW Hampton

Sardnes Hancock

CW Hayward

Henry Higgs

CH Hoarly

WA Hodgson

Holmes (with Parliamentary election leaflet)

Richard Hope

W Wade Jackson

JC Jolly

Austin Jones

John Jones

Richard Kirby

C Latham

George Lathan

Major Leigh Aman

H Lenck

Frederick Lobnitz

Fred Longllen

T Lort-Williams

AB Mackay

Mr Meggitt

Henry Mersen

CK Morden

Gilbert Murray

John Murray

Major John Neal (letter)

John Paton

H Pike Pease (with letter)

F Penny

Hilton Philipson

Major Graham Pole (with letter)

CH Powell (letter)

C Prescott Dene

Mrs CD Rackham

Miss Rathbone

James Read (with letter)

Mary Richardson

JCH Robinson

Frank Roebuck

HD Roome

Bertrand Russell

Jas Shaw

Denis Shipwright

Frank Smith (with letter)

EL Spears (letter)

Maurice Spencer

Leopold Spero

James Stevenson (with letter)

Mr Stewart Brown

Mrs Oliver (Ray) Strachey (with correspondence, Parliamentary election leaflets)

AF Stubbs

General Thomson

Stanley Tubbs

H Wallace

John Watts

HY Wheater

R White

Herbert Williams (letter)

J Wilson

EW Wilton

E Wooll

Gerald Yekes

(plus three unidentified)