This property was originally part of the main Manorial estate of Bletchingdon, but was sold off by the then owner, Sir John Lenthall in 1624. The Bargain and Sale by which the property changed hands may be found at 1D/15 above.
This land was sold off soon before the Lenthalls sold Bletchingdon Manor to the Coghill family, and some of the early deeds in this series are linked to this process.
The property was first called the Swan in 1704/5, when it had been split up (see 2D/12 below). Its history after 1716 is still not certain. It next appears in deeds of the 1790s (see 18D/1 below, as well as SL11/2/6D/6), when it was owned by the Leverett family, but there is no indication of when it was bought by them.