Power Station Foundations

Scope and Content

Peter Rowe was involved in the design and construction of five nuclear power stations during the late 1960s and early 1970s: Hinkley Point 'B', Heysham 2, Hartlepool, Hunterston and Oldbury. His principal role was to advise on foundation stability. Rowe worked on the majority of these projects for Sir Robert McAlpine and Sons Ltd. This firm was both a member of the consortium known as The Nuclear Power Group (TNPG) and a sub-contractor to the Group. TNPG was formed in 1957 and was chaired by Sir Edwin McAlpine. In the late 1970s and early 1980s Rowe worked on Torness, one of the second-generation advanced gas-cooled reactor nuclear power stations (PWR/4/2/4/9).

Rowe also advised on the foundation design of two conventional power stations in Scotland, Inverkip and Peterhead (PWR/4/2/4/5 & PWR/4/5/4/8) and a third, Stake Ness, which was not constructed (PWR/4/2/4/6).