Scope and Content

The Green or Greencoat School was set up in 1720 by John Stevens, a London mercer, to provide basic education for 8 poor boys and girls of Henley (increased to 12 in 1818). The foundation and administrative documents of which this collection is comprised were deposited by a descendant of the founder in May 2007 (accession 5636).

Catalogued by Mark Priddey & Hilary Morse, May 2020.