A National and Industrial School was opened in 1817 on New Road and was enlarged in 1830 to include an Infants school. In 1849 new premises was erected on a site on Gravel Hill forming Henley National School. In 1926 the National Schools were reorganised and the Gravel Hill site taking the senior boys. In 1932-1933 following another reorganisation, the Gravel Hill School becoming a Mixed Senior School. Following the introductions of secondary education the site then was used by Henley Secondary Modern School (please see S128/12 for records of this school) - after moving to become Gillotts School - and South Oxfordshire Technical College (please see S128/6 for records of this school), later Henley College (please see S128/7 for records of this school). Please see CC4/106 for other records of this school.
The records were deposited as part of Acc 3160 in December 1990 and also transferred from the Oxfordshire Education Department to the Oxfordshire History Centre. Catalogued by Heleen van Rossum June 1993, recatalogued by Alison Smith in April 2009 with additions in May 2016.