UNITED CHARITY SCHOOLS

Scope and Content

The United Charity Schools of Henley-on-Thames were formed by Act of Parliament in 1778 when the original Grammar School (please see S128/1 for records of this school) and Dame Elizabeth Periam’s School (please see S128/2 for records of this school) were united. In practice the schools were run separately until 1892 when the new Henley Grammar School was formed (please see S128/4 for records of this school) and the Dame Elizabeth Periam’s School site closed and merged onto the Grammar School site.

The majority of the records were deposited as Acc 3160 in December 1990 and Acc 3449 in March 1992. Catalogued by Heleen van Rossum June 1993, recatalogued by Alison Smith in April 2009.