Henley Grammar School was formed in 1892 when the existing Grammar School (please see S128/1) for records of this school and Dame Elizabeth Periam's School (please see S128/2 for records of this school) recombined on the Northfield End site. However, the schools had been administered under the auspices of the United Charity Schools (please see S128/3) for records of this school since 1778. In 1928 the running of the school was taken over by the County Council and the school moved to the Rotherfield Court site. In 1976 the Grammar School was reorganised as a sixth form college and was renamed King James's Sixth Form College (please see S128/5 for records of this school). Please see CC4/245 for other records of this school.
The majority of the records were deposited as part of Acc 3139 in September 1990, Acc 3160 in December 1990 and Acc 3449 in March 1992. Catalogued by Heleen van Rossum June 1993, recatalogued by Alison Smith in April 2009 with additions in July 2015.