Scope and Content

Under the Local Government Act, 1888 (51 & 52 Vict. c. 41) county authorities were responsible for all main roads within their administrative areas except where urban authorities retained this right. Rural authorities could contract with county councils to maintain the roads in their districts. In April 1910 the County Council assumed direct responsibility from the district councils for maintaining rural main roads. Under Part III of the Local Government Act, 1929 (19 & 20 Geo. V c. 17) county authorities became responsible for all roads (main and non-main) although powers could be delegated to district authorities. Under a Scheme introduced in April 1930 the County Council retained direct responsibility for the whole of its administrative area which was divided into the North-Eastern, Southern and Western Areas. The Committee was re-named in July 1932 to reflect these changes. Under Part IV of the National Parks and Access to the Countryside Act, 1949 (12, 13 & 14 Geo. VI c. 97) county councils and joint planning boards were made responsible for the first public survey and maintenance of public rights of way including footpaths and bridleways leading to the production of definitive maps and statements.