Manor Court Rolls, 1844-1921; Notice, n.d.
Bishopston Manor Collection
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Bishopston manor lies within the southern half of the ecclesiastical parish of Bishopston. Bishopston derives its name from having formerly belonged to the Bishop of Llandaff who held the ecclesiastical manor of Bishopston in free alms. Whenever the See of Llandaff fell vacant, the Lords of Gower laid claim to the profits of the manor of Bishopston. Although the Crown's right to the temporalities of the See during vacancy was eventually conceded, Bishopston remained as an Episcopal manor of the Bishop of Llandaff until 1923, when it became part of the newly-created diocese of Swansea and Brecon.
The collection was originally catalogued at University College Library, Swansea, where an interpretation of the original order was made. This catalogue lists the items chronologically under the headings stated in Scope and content.
Conditions Governing Access
The records were originally held at The Royal Institution of South Wales, Swansea. From 1966 onwards the records were moved to the library in the University College, Swansea in consignments. They were transferred to West Glamorgan Archive Service in the Spring of 2004 as part of The Royal Institution of South Wales Collection.
Compiled by Katie Millien for the West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service. The catalogue can be accessed online.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records transferred to the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained.
Accruals are not expected.