• This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 197 SR162
  • Dates of Creation
  • Physical Description
      1 box 0.016 cubic metres

Scope and Content

Comprising: log books 1953-1994; programmes for official opening and rededication 1953-195; admission register 1953-1980; other records 1978-1986

Administrative / Biographical History

This school, situated on Clay Lane, Doncaster was originally known as St George's Controlled Church of England Primary School. It was officially opened on 17 October 1953 as a Church of England School to replace Doncaster National School, the Parish Church Schools. These had first been opened in 1816 in West Laithe Gate, but moved to new premises in St George's Gate, opened on 8 May 1868.

The Clay Lane school subsequently became St George's First School. The school amalgamated with Curlew Middle School at the Curlew School site on Wilberforce Road as a school for children aged 4 to 11, with a specially-built separate nursery school. The new school opened in September 1994 and took over the newly-extended building in March 1995. It was renamed St Aidan's Voluntary Aided Church of England Primary School and officially dedicated by the bishop of Doncaster on 12 May 1995. As a result of school re-organisation, the school was closed in July 2004

Access Information


Access will be granted to any member of Doncaster Libraries

Related Material

See SR15 and SR16 for the records of the superseded Church of England schools. Also see SR141 for the records of Curlew Middle School.