Dyfatty School, Swansea, Records

Scope and Content

Log books, 1875-1974; managers' minutes, 1974-1979; admission registers, 1881-1979; admission and transfer forms, 1970-1979; medical and other reports, 1971-1977; order books, 1968-1978; petty cash books, 1972-1979; telephone call records, 1976-1979; records relating to school meals, 1974-1979; records relating to buildings and furniture, [c. 1970]-1979; map of school catchment areas, [c. 1970]; circulars and reports, 1970-[1975].

Administrative / Biographical History

Dyfatty School, Swansea, opened in 1875. The school buildings were destroyed by enemy action in February 1941. A nursery school was opened in 1969 but became part of the infants school in 1974.


Arranged chronologically into: log books; managers' minutes; admission registers; forms; reports; annual statistical returns; order books; petty cash books; delivery notes, invoices and requisitions; telephone calls records; school meals; buildings and furniture; catchment areas; circulars and reports.

Access Information

Items under 100 years old containing information on named individuals may be restricted in accordance with the Data Protection Act 1998.

Acquisition Information

It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.


Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Education - Primary Schools, catalogue; Collis, Kim, West Glamorgan Archive Service - A Guide to the Collections (West Glamorgan Archive Service, 1998).

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

No information available.


Accruals are not expected.

Geographical Names