Includes log books and admissions registers.
Records of Lloyd Street School, Llandudno
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 2008 CE22
- Dates of Creation1883-1945
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description2 boxes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Formerly known as Llandudno British School, Llandudno board School, Lloyd Street Board School and Lloyd Street Council School.
Llandudno British School was opened in 1873 [in the basement of the English Baptist Chapel]. Following the formation of Llandudno School Board in 1877, the British School was transferred to the authority of the Board and by 1878 was known as Llandudno Board School. On December 8th 1881 the foundation stone of the school building in Lloyd Street was laid.
The school was made up of three departments, Boys, Girls and Infants until 1912, when the boys and girls depts. were combined to create a mixed Junior School.. The Infants School remained as a separate department although located in the same building.
Over the years a number of improvements and alterations were made to the school, particularly in 1899/1900 and also in 1939 when, in addition to alterations to the main school, a new infants school was built at the back of the site [the new school was built on the site of the caretaker's house and the 'extensive school gardens].
Following the opening of the new Infants School, the NWWN visited both schools and an article appeared in the NWWN on December 7th 1939 [page 7].
The school closed in [?the 1980s] and has subsequently housed a number of council depts. The original Junior School now accommodates Conwy Archive and Modern Records Service.
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.