The club was founded in 1907 by a group of bondholders raising money by the issue of debentures. They became the managers of the club. A Ladies' Club was started in 1909. The golf course was opened on 16 May 1908 on the Bolney estate at Harpsden. Membership of the club grew steadily and had increased to 650 by the 1970s and 700 in 1983.
The records in this collection consist of minute books (including those of the ladies' club), records of competitions, a register of bondholders, a book of suggestions, plans of the golf course, and notes about the club's history.
The material was deposited in November 1992, as part of accession 3540.
Catalogued by Mark Priddey, August 1995.