L.M. Boston Collection

Scope and Content

Papers of the author L.M. Boston, consisting of draft material for all of the books in the Green Knowe series; eight other fictional works, including Boston's two adult novels 'Yew Hall' and 'Persephone'; Boston's two volumes of memoirs, 'Memory in a House' and 'Perverse and Foolish'; and some poetry.

Administrative / Biographical History

Created by L.M. Boston during the course of her career as a writer.


Material is arranged into series as follows:

LMB/01 Green Knowe series

LMB/02 Other fictional works

LMB/03 Non-fiction works

LMB/04 Poetry

Further information on the arrangement of each series can be found at series level.

Access Information

Accessible to all researchers, by appointment only.

Archivist's Note

Seven Stories, the Centre for Children's Books, was established as a registered charity and company limited by guarantee in 1996, with the aims of preserving, maintaining and adding to a growing and accessible collection of archival material, artwork and printed books relating to modern British children's literature. The collection is intended to form part of the national heritage in an archive and library of present and future historical interest for the public benefit. (See Memorandum of Association)

Conditions Governing Use

Copyright in all original material resides with L.M. Boston's estate.

Custodial History

Deposited with Seven Stories on long-term loan by Diana Boston, L.M. Boston's daughter-in-law and literary executor, in September 2010.

Related Material

For personal correspondence from L.M. Boston to her friend, Hilary Bourne see the Hilary Bourne-Lucy Boston Collection, reference HB.