Society records of the Methodist Church, York, Heworth Methodist Chapel

Scope and Content

Records of Trustees, including meetings minute book, 1907-1971, account book, 1908-1976, letter requesting to be discharged as a Trustee, 1906, and related accounts, reports and schedules, 1940-1969; Society and Leaders’ meetings minute books, 1919-1967; general church meeting minutes, 1975-1983; church register, 1932-1947; pulpit notice books, 1952-1958; papers relating to chapel services, 1984-1989; papers relating to the chapel’s centenary year, including planning meeting minutes, programme, correspondence, news-sheets and photographs, 1989-1990; church newsletters, 1978-2012; and Circuit papers, 1965-1978.

Financial records, including Society Steward’s account book, 1937-1977, Finance Committee papers, 1975-1977, statements of annual accounts, 1967-1977, collections journals, 1911-1963, Envelope System cash books, 1932-1949, contributions record book, 1961-1973, correspondence concerning bequests, 1966-1968, and vouchers, cheque book stubs and bank statements, 1918-1967; General Fund and Benevolence Fund accounts and correspondence, 1960-1978; and Poor Steward’s account book and related papers, 1905-1986.

Property and fabric papers, including Development Fund Committee minutes, 1968-1978, and accounts book, 1968-1980; minutes, papers and correspondence concerning the Church Extension Fund and the opening of the new Sunday School, 1958-1971, plan of proposals for alterations to the church, 1967, and papers relating to the organ fund, 1952-1968.

Records of chapel groups and associations, comprising Heworth Wesley Guild minute book, 1924-1961; Sunday School records, including teachers’ meetings minute book, 1924-1953, papers concerning the school extension fund, 1931-1933, and order of service for stone laying ceremony for new Sunday School premises, 1967; Heworth Chapel Choir Committee minute book, 1938-1970; Women’s Group Committee minutes, 1937-1958; Youth Club Committee minutes, 1964-1977.

Unlisted material.

Administrative / Biographical History

A Wesleyan Methodist chapel was built at Heworth in 1826. It remained in use until 1889 when it was demolished and replaced by a new and larger chapel and schoolroom on the adjacent site of Heworth House. The new chapel, which opened in 1890, was largely funded by the gift of Hannah Crampton Leak in memory of her late husband, William, a prominent York Methodist.

The building was designed by Edward Taylor in gothic style and could seat 220 people. A Sunday School was set up by William Camidge soon after the new chapel opened and a new schoolroom was later added in 1930 to accommodate a growing congregation as Heworth underwent a period of significant expansion. By the 1930s the Chapel also had a choir, a Wesley Guild and a Women's Meeting.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, Heworth joined York, New Street Circuit (later renamed Clifton Circuit) in 1867. In 1888 it became part of the new York, Centenary Circuit. It continued as part of York, Centenary Circuit of what was now a unified Methodist Connexion following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932. In 1981 it became part of York, South Circuit.

As of 2016 Heworth Chapel is still in use. Since 2012 it has been part of the York Circuit of the Methodist Connexion.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute prior to 1986. Further additions were made to the archive in 1986, 1988, 1989, 1995, 1996, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2016.

Note

A Wesleyan Methodist chapel was built at Heworth in 1826. It remained in use until 1889 when it was demolished and replaced by a new and larger chapel and schoolroom on the adjacent site of Heworth House. The new chapel, which opened in 1890, was largely funded by the gift of Hannah Crampton Leak in memory of her late husband, William, a prominent York Methodist.

The building was designed by Edward Taylor in gothic style and could seat 220 people. A Sunday School was set up by William Camidge soon after the new chapel opened and a new schoolroom was later added in 1930 to accommodate a growing congregation as Heworth underwent a period of significant expansion. By the 1930s the Chapel also had a choir, a Wesley Guild and a Women's Meeting.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, Heworth joined York, New Street Circuit (later renamed Clifton Circuit) in 1867. In 1888 it became part of the new York, Centenary Circuit. It continued as part of York, Centenary Circuit of what was now a unified Methodist Connexion following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932. In 1981 it became part of York, South Circuit.

As of 2016 Heworth Chapel is still in use. Since 2012 it has been part of the York Circuit of the Methodist Connexion.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2010. Later material has not yet been listed, please contact the Institute for more information.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 23.11.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

Circuit records for the York Circuit, York, New Street and York, Centenary Circuits of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, and York, Centenary and York, South Circuits of the Methodist Connexion are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute. The records of the York Circuit and York, New Street Circuit form a single archive (MRC/1), as do the records of both Centenary Circuits (MRC/3).

Additional Information

Published

GB193