Records of Siloh Welsh Independent Chapel, Melincryddan, [late 20th century], comprising xerox copies, [late 20th century], of deeds relating to the trustees of the chapel (1879-1946); booklet on the chapel's history, 1982.
Siloh Welsh Independent Chapel, Melincryddan, Neath, Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 216 D/D Ind 7
- Dates of Creation[late 20th century]
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description(19 items)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Siloh Fach in Melincryddan, Neath, Glamorgan, opened in 1858 as a Sunday School and a daughter church to Zoar Chapel, Neath. With the influx of industrial workers to the area the chapel soon became too small and the present Siloh Chapel was opened in 1880. It was built on land given to the Welsh Congregationalists by the Earl of Jersey in 1878. Bethesda Independent Chapel, Briton Ferry, was a daughter church of Siloh.
Arranged into the following: chapel trustees; chapel history.
Conditions Governing Access
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Religion - Nonconformist - Welsh Independent - Siloh Welsh Independent Chapel Melincryddan, Neath, catalogue.
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records have been retained
Accruals are not expected