In 1826 a school and school house was built in Marchwiel to educate pupils on the principles of the Church of England using the Madras or National system.
By 1847 42 pupils were taught at the school, 23 girls and 19 boys. Th Rector supported the school himself financially and the pupils contributed. By 1874 building work began on a new school at a cost of £379 16s. 8d. and by 1870 attendance had risen to 70 and by 1890 to 90 pupils.
In 1894 building work began to erect the middle part of the school. After completion the main classroom held 76 children, another classroom held 31, the middle classroom held 60 and the infants room held 55. The layout of the school remnained like this until it's closure.(ED/LB/81/2)
In 1908 the average number of pupils was 150, and numbers continued to drop. By 1939 there were only 80 pupils in attendance, a third of these aged between 11-15 . In 1952 the school received aided status and in 1954 Marchwiel National school became a Controlled school receiving full financial support from the authority. (ED/X/81/1)
In 1974 the school closed and a new school called Deiniol County Primary school was opened on Station Road.
Woodhouse Lane, Marchwiel, Wrexham.
PD/81/23, papers, 1894-1903