Parish records of Clifford

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1842-1991; register of marriages, 1852-1985; register of burials, 1842-1996; register of internment of ashes, 1991-1996; register of banns, 1852-1977; register of services, 1842-1880, 1894-1915, 1926-1985; records concerning benefice income, including correspondence and papers, 1913, 1930, 1934, 1937-1940, and sequestration papers, 1969-1973; charity records, including accounts, 1936-1939; churchwardens’ records, including fabric papers, 1842, 1905-1968; records of incumbents, including stewardship campaign correspondence and papers, 1964, dilapidations, 1932-1936, parsonage house correspondence, 1934, and statistical returns, 1895-1901; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including Board of Health Committee minutes of meetings, 1858-1860, and Nuisances Removal Committee minutes of meetings, 1858-1860; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1851-1976, electoral roll, 1961-1963, and parish magazines, 1960-1969.

Administrative / Biographical History

Clifford was a chapel of ease within the parish of Bramham. St Luke’s Chapel was built partly at the expense of the Lane-Fox family of Bramham Park and was designed by the architects John Bonas Atkinson and William Atkinson of York. The chapel was consecrated in 1842.

In 1853 Clifford separated from Bramham to form an independent parish.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1979 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1988, 1991 and 1997.

Note

Clifford was a chapel of ease within the parish of Bramham. St Luke’s Chapel was built partly at the expense of the Lane-Fox family of Bramham Park and was designed by the architects John Bonas Atkinson and William Atkinson of York. The chapel was consecrated in 1842.

In 1853 Clifford separated from Bramham to form an independent parish.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1997.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1842-1885, marriages, 1852-1885, burials, 1842-1885, and banns, 1852-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 667, 1761).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 01.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

For baptisms, marriages, burials and other parish records for Clifford prior to 1842, see the parish records of Bramham.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193