Records of the Registrar General of Shipping and Seamen for the port of Beaumaris, Anglesey, 1863 - 1913, comprising mainly crew lists and log books.
Registrar General of Shipping and Seamen (Beaumaris, Anglesey) Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 221 WDB
- Dates of Creation1863 - 1913
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.901 cubic metres (424 items)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
On Anglesey, the Registrar General of Shipping and Seamen recorded merchant ships registered at the port of Beaumaris. Crew lists note the tonnage, owner and master of each ship, destination of voyages, occasional details of cargoes and the names, age, place of birth and wages of each crew member. The Registrar General of Shipping and Seamen was established by the Merchant Shipping Act 1872, when the Registrar General of Seamen took over responsibility for returns relating to the registration of ships from the Board of Customs' Chief Registrar of Shipping. Beaumaris was the principal port of North Wales until the Port of Caernarfon was established and in the second half of the 19th century was home to around 250 vessels. Many of these were involved in the transport of goods, importing coal and timber and exporting copper and other ores, slate and marble.
Arranged alphabetically by name of ship.
Conditions Governing Access
Dim cyfyngiadau/ No Restrictions
Transferred from the Public Record Office per Keeper of the Public Records.
Os gwelwch yn dda archebwch y dogfenau gan ddefnyddio y rhif cyfeirnod amgen (lle ddarperidd) / Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided)
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives and the National Register of Archives. It is the policy of Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives to catalogue in the language of the document.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Cyflwr da /Good condition
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives, Catalogue, Records of the Registrar General of Shipping and Seamen (Anglesey); GENUKI: Anglesey website (www.genuki.org.uk/big/wal/AGY/), viewed 4 July 2003.
Mae'r holl gofnodiadau sy'n cydymffurfio â pholisi casglu Swyddfa Gofnodi Cyngor Sir Ynys Môn wedi eu cadw /All records which meet the collection policy of the Anglesey Archives have been retained.
The Public Record Office retained a 10% sample for each year. Records for the year 1865 and all other years ending in the digit 5 were transferred to the National Maritime Museum, Greenwich, London.
Ni ddisgwylir croniadau/Accruals are not expected