• This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 197 P89
  • Dates of Creation
  • Physical Description
      1 box 0.016 cubic metres

Scope and Content

Comprising: Registers of Services, 1907-1981

Administrative / Biographical History

In 1837 the Revd G. H. Woodhouse, rector of Finningley, employed the architect William Hurst to design a new "Chapel of Ease" for the inhabitants of Auckley. An account of the subsequent building work and opening of the chapel is to be found in Woodhouse's detailed study of the township, entitled Finningley. A Memorial Addressed to His Friends and Parishioners:

"Mr Birkenshaw did the brickwork; Mr Reasbeck, of Doncaster, the roof; Messrs Tomlinson of Retford, and Rawson of Awkley the woodwork; Mr Athron, of Doncaster, the stonework; and the windows were cast by Messrs Marshall of Derby. When the building was complete, a Day School was established, taught by Mr and Mrs Field: a Sunday School of seventy children in which pious persons of all persuasions taught; and a licence for Divine service having been granted by the Bishop of Lincoln, sermons were preached at the opening by Bishop Shirley and the Reverend George Hadley."

The property, which is located in Main Street, was registered as a Grade II listed building by English Heritage on 11 January 1988.


The collection is made up of a single series:

P89/1: Registration, Church Services, and Worship

Access Information


Access will be granted to any accredited member of Doncaster Libraries

Custodial History

These records were transferred from Nottinghamshire Archives in February 2012, along with those of Finningley, Holy Trinity and St Oswald

Related Material