Prion Parish Records

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

The records of individual ecclesiastical parishes include registers of baptisms, marriages and burials, as well as records of the churchwardens and Parochial Church Councils, parish charities, schools, clubs and societies.

Parish records were deposited at the Clwyd Record Office, following an agreement of 1976 between the Church in Wales and the Welsh County Councils.

The ecclesiastical parish of Prion was created, by an order in Council, on 23 January 1860, and extended by an Order in Council on 22 February 1879, out of the ancient parish of Llanrhaeadr yng Nghinmeirch. It comprises the townships of Llanrhaeadr yng Nghinmeirch, Prion and Trefydd Bychain; and portions of the townships of Llewesog, Segroit Ucha, Segroit Isa, and Cader.

Information taken from GENUKI- http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/wal/DEN/Prion/index.html (last accessed 07/01/2015)

Arrangement

Arranged into two key groups; Ecclesiastical Records and Civil Records

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open for research. It is advisable to book in advance, for details and opening hours see http://archives.denbighshire.gov.uk/visit-us/. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Denbighshire Archive Service will advise where this is the case.

Geographical Names