Hereford Cathedral Library and Archives
- Advice on accessing these materials
- 5 College Cloisters, Cathedral Close, Hereford, HR1 2NG, England, United Kingdom
- Hereford Cathedral Library and Archives are housed in the New Library Building, the entrance to which is in Palace Yard, between the west end of the Cathedral and the entrance to the Bishop's Palace, adjacent to the north end of Gwynne Street. Please press the ‘CALL’ button to the left of the door. Once you are inside the building, the Reading Room is on the second floor, accessible by stairs or lift.
- Opening Hours
- Tuesdays: 10.00-16.00Wednesdays: 10.00-16.00Thursdays: 10.00-16.00First Saturday in the month: 10.00-13.00Other times by appointment.
- Facilities for Disabled Persons
- All areas are wheelchair accessible
- Archival and Other Holdings
The historic collections consist of all the medieval manuscript books, early printed (pre-1801) books, some nineteenth-century works, manuscript and printed music, as well as prints, drawings and photographic materials. Requests to consult historic material must be made well in advance.The Cathedral Archives consist of the records of the Dean & Chapter documenting the history of the cathedral and its considerable property throughout the county from the early Middle Ages until the present day. The collection includes title deeds, manorial and ecclesiastical court records, minutes, accounts, maps, architectural drawings and personal papers. NB: The Library does not hold archives of the Bishop, which are available with the other diocesan records at Herefordshire County Record Office.