Imperial College London, Archives and Corporate Records Unit

  • Web
  • Email
  • Telephone
      +44 (0)20 7589 5111
  • Address
    • South Kensington Campus, London, SW7 2AZ, United Kingdom
  • Opening Hours
    • Mon-Fri 10:00-17:00
  • Access Information
      Admission to Imperial College Archives is by appointment only to bona fide scholars. Prior proof of status, proof of identity and a description of the research project is required.
  • Archival and Other Holdings

    Staff papers deposited in the Archives include those of some of the most significant names of the nineteenth century scientific world. These include:T. H. Huxely - Biologist, Palaeontologist, School of Mines and Royal College of Science, “Darwin’s Bulldog”Sir Lyon Playfair - Chemist, School of Mines, Diplomat, and 1851 CommissionerHenry Edward Armstrong – Chemistry, City & GuildsMembers of the Geological Survey of Great Britain, who mapped Britain geologically for the first time – including Sir Henry De La Beche and Sir Andrew Crombie Ramsay - Geologist, School of MinesSir Norman Lockyer – who discovered helium and founded the journal NatureNobel Prize winner Denis Gabor - Electrical Engineer, inventor of holography and the flat television tubeHerbert Dingle - Physicist/ Natural PhilosopherBaron Willis Jackson of Burnley - Electrical Engineer, Pro-Rector of Imperial CollegeSir Alec Skempton - founder of Soil ScienceAlan Bishop - Soil ScientistStanley Runcorn - GeophysicistJohn Stodart Kennedy – ZoologistSir Geoffrey Wilkinson – Nobel Prize winner in Chemistry

List of Collections(View as Search Results)