Downing College Archives, University of Cambridge
- Special Features
- +44 1223 762905
- Maitland Robinson Library, Cambridge, CB2 1DQ, England, United Kingdom
- Opening Hours
- Open 2 days per week
- Access Information
- Access to the Archive in person is strictly by appointment only. The Archive is open to researchers two days per week, but access may be limited during term time and, in particular, during the exam period.
- Archival and Other Holdings
The Archive records the history of Downing College from its first inception, in the will of Sir George Downing, 3rd Baronet, through its eventual foundation in 1800 to the very recent past. Records in the archive cover the history of the Downing family estates, dating back to the 1500s, the legal battle which preceded the foundation of the College, plans and papers relating to the original architectural designs for the new College and all aspects of the history of the College from 1800 to the present day.