Printed music score of Haydn symphonies

Scope and Content

Printed books.

Music score.

Three publications bound together for each instrument:

  • Nos [1-12] of Haydn's Great Symphonies. Composed for Mr Salomon's Concerts and arranged for five instruments, viz. Two Violins, A German Flute, A Tenor, and a Violoncello: with an accompaniment for the piano forte ad libitum. By J.P. Salomon. London. Printed for the proprietor Mr Salomon and to behad of him at the Hanover Square Rooms"
  • Nos [1-12] Dr Haydn's Symphonies arranged as Quintettos for a Flute, two Violin, Tenor and Violoncello with an adaptation or thorough Bass for the Piano Forte, by Dr Hague, Professor of Music in the University of Cambridge. Book 1. London Printed & Sold by Preston
  • Three Grand Symphonies composed by Joseph Haydn, and arranged for five instruments, viz. Two Violins, a German Flute, Viola & Violoncello; with an accompaniment for the pianoforte (ad libitum) by John Peter Salomon. Set. London. Published by R. Birchall

Includes paste-in reading: "Presented to The Scottish National Academy of Music, Glasgow, by W.H. Macdougall ... March 1945"

Also includes bookplates of 'David Ure' and 'Archibald M. Macdougall [died January 1941]'

Ink stamps: "The Royal Scottish Academy of Music"

The six volumes are:

  • Flute
  • 1st Violin
  • 2nd Violin
  • Viola
  • Violoncello - includes a frontispiece portrait of D. Dragonetti by J. Notz
  • Pianoforte

Access Information

Open. Appointment necessary E-mail:

Acquisition Information

Presented by W. H. Macdougall in March 1945.