Parish records of Hemingbrough

Scope and Content

Include register of christenings, 1605-1960; register of marriages, 1605-2014; register of burials, 1605-1973 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1781-1812); register of banns, 1879-1920, 1930-1988; register of services, 1905-2002; register of graves, 1889-1901; register of Cliffe services, 1911-1926, 1973-1975; records concerning benefice income, including tithe papers, 1910; charity records, including deeds and papers, 1851-1897, School Land Charity papers, 1880-1896, Poor Folk's Charity papers, 1883-1941, United Charities of Hemingbrough papers, 1925-1974, and Wharf Charity papers, 1956-1973; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1715-1932, and fabric papers, 1937-1970; constable's accounts, 1801-1802; overseers’ records, including accounts, 1801-1806, and poor law returns, 1833-1838; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including papers regarding St. Andrew's Mission Room, Cliffe, 1908-1949, and Hemingbrough Institute and Playing Fields Association trust deed, 1963; school records, including grant of land for school house, 1847; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1894-1963, 1978-1992, accounts, 1918-1990, accounts and rental of Lennox Smith estates, 1681-1691, Hemingbrough enclosure award and map, 1844, Cliffe enclosure award and map, 1863, royal charter confirming privileges of tenants of royal demesne of Hemingbrough, 1626, papers concerning Hemingbrough Commons, 1928-1980, papers regarding public rights of way, 1960-1972, and miscellaneous correspondence and papers, including maps, 1890-1969; town book of Cliffe-cum-Lund, 1801-1892; antiquarian material, 19th century.

Administrative / Biographical History

The existence of a church at Hemingbrough was recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century. It was given to the Bishop of Durham by William the Conqueror and subsequently assigned to the Prior and Convent of Durham, remaining subject to the Priory’s peculiar jurisdiction until the sixteenth century.

The parish church was appropriated to the Prior and Convent in 1356 and a perpetual vicarage ordained there the same year. From 1426 until the Dissolution of the Monasteries, the parochial church was made a collegiate church under the care of a provost, three prebendaries, six vicars choral and six clerks. At the Dissolution the Priory was suppressed and the advowson of the church passed to the Crown and in 1898 to the Archbishop of York. As part of the Peculiar Court of Howden and Howdenshire, the parish was subject to the jurisdiction of the Dean and Chapter of Durham until the nineteenth century. The benefice was augmented in 1810 and 1814 by parliamentary grant.

The present parish church is dedicated to St Mary and dates to the twelfth century. It was extended in the thirteenth century and underwent further improvement in the fifteenth to fit its new collegiate status. The church underwent several periods of restoration between 1851 and 1884. A vicarage house may have existed from as early as 1324. By the fifteenth century incumbents were using a house known as The Stackgarth and this was still in use as late as 1826. It was replaced in 1826 and again in 1973.

The parish historically included Babthorpe, Barlby, Bowthorpe, Brackenholme, Cliffe, Hagthorpe, Lund, Menthorpe, Osgodby, South Duffield and Woodhall. Barlby was a chapelry of Hemingbrough from the fifteenth century until 1895 when it became a parish in its own right. A mission room, dedicated to St Andrew, was erected at Cliffe in 1908 and rebuilt in 1985.

Today the parish, which includes St Andrew’s Mission Room at Cliffe, is part of the united benefice of Riccall, Barlby and Hemingbrough.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1973 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1981, 1985, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1995, 1997, 2000, 2005 and 2017.

Note

The existence of a church at Hemingbrough was recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century. It was given to the Bishop of Durham by William the Conqueror and subsequently assigned to the Prior and Convent of Durham, remaining subject to the Priory’s peculiar jurisdiction until the sixteenth century.

The parish church was appropriated to the Prior and Convent in 1356 and a perpetual vicarage ordained there the same year. From 1426 until the Dissolution of the Monasteries, the parochial church was made a collegiate church under the care of a provost, three prebendaries, six vicars choral and six clerks. At the Dissolution the Priory was suppressed and the advowson of the church passed to the Crown and in 1898 to the Archbishop of York. As part of the Peculiar Court of Howden and Howdenshire, the parish was subject to the jurisdiction of the Dean and Chapter of Durham until the nineteenth century. The benefice was augmented in 1810 and 1814 by parliamentary grant.

The present parish church is dedicated to St Mary and dates to the twelfth century. It was extended in the thirteenth century and underwent further improvement in the fifteenth to fit its new collegiate status. The church underwent several periods of restoration between 1851 and 1884. A vicarage house may have existed from as early as 1324. By the fifteenth century incumbents were using a house known as The Stackgarth and this was still in use as late as 1826. It was replaced in 1826 and again in 1973.

The parish historically included Babthorpe, Barlby, Bowthorpe, Brackenholme, Cliffe, Hagthorpe, Lund, Menthorpe, Osgodby, South Duffield and Woodhall. Barlby was a chapelry of Hemingbrough from the fifteenth century until 1895 when it became a parish in its own right. A mission room, dedicated to St Andrew, was erected at Cliffe in 1908 and rebuilt in 1985.

Today the parish, which includes St Andrew’s Mission Room at Cliffe, is part of the united benefice of Riccall, Barlby and Hemingbrough.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2017.

Alternative Form Available

Selected records, including registers of christenings, marriages, and burials, 1605-1900, and banns, 1879-1900, churchwardens' accounts, 1715-1878, tithe awards, 1841-1842, enclosure award, 1844, terriers, 1770, graves register, 1889-1901, accounts, 1681-1691, and town book, 1801-1892, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 701-702, 1753, 1766, 1773, 1770).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 22.02.16

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193