Account books of the Pen-y-groes blacksmith, 1914-1922, consisting of the names of farmers, their farms and details of work carried our at the smithy. Also, a few notes regarding the farm associated with the blacksmith and a printed catalogue of prices for shoeing.
Pen-y-groes Blacksmith Accounts
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 222 BMSS BCK
- Dates of Creation1914 - 1922
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialWelsh.
- Physical Description10 items
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Very little administrative history is known in relation to the Pen-y-groes blacksmith in Caernarfonshire other than what can be gathered from the account books.
It is evident that they provided a service for many local farmers - shoeing horses and repairing many kinds of implements, tools, carts and motor car parts. Amongst the list of customers are Section Engineers, Bangor and Llanwnda Parish Council.
According to the Price List for Horse shoeing for the North Wales District attached to one account book, the blacksmith came under the auspices of the N M FA of Great Britain, (Cymdeithas Genedlaethol Meistriaid Gofaint Prydain Fawr). Every member had to stamp every shoe put on by him with the stamp of the Association and all smithies were to close at one o'clock on Saturday.
A note on the inside cover of one account book states that a John Jones started his apprenticeship of three years on 9 December 1914 at the blacksmith.
Arranged chronologically and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users.
Presented by W. Gilbert Williams, Rhostryfan in October 1941.
Description compiled by Elen Wyn Hughes, April 2002
Other Finding Aids
An item level typescript catalogue is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference numbers : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 4157-4159
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.