Parish records of Kirby Underdale

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1557-1704, 1707-1912; register of marriages, 1557-1704, 1707-1753, 1755-1905, 1908-1962; register of burials, 1557-1704, 1706-1993 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1787-1712, ages only 1787-1809); register of banns, 1876-1956; register of services, 1897-1941, 1956-1964; records concerning benefice income, including correspondence and papers, 1843, 1870, 1936-1957, and papers relating to glebe sales, 1906-1908; charity records, including note of bequest to poor, 1630, and receipt of poor's money, 1691; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1741-1876, 1920-1925, restoration accounts and correspondence, 1871, and fabric papers, 1897-1961; constables’ records, including accounts, 1714-1863, and memoranda regarding vagrants, 16th century-17th century; records of incumbents, including parish notes for new incumbent, c.1955, dilapidations papers, 1937-1944, and parsonage house papers, 1685, 1687; overseers’ accounts, 1684-1741, 1784-1837; school records, including managers' minutes of meetings, 1903-1956, and correspondence, 1946-1950, 1960-1964; surveyors’ records, including accounts for Kirby Underdale and Painsthorpe, 1825-1863, and accounts for Hanging Grimston and Uncleby, 1840-1859; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including applications for electoral roll with register, 1924-1943.

Administrative / Biographical History

There was a church at Kirby Underdale from the late eleventh century, when it was given to St Mary’s Abbey, York, by a monk named Hernegrim. The earliest known rector was Walter de Gaugy in 1229-1230. The church is unusually situated on the side of a steep hill below the village.

The abbey held the advowson of the church until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century, at which time it passed to the Crown.

The church, which is dedicated to All Saints, was restored in 1828 and then again in 1871 by George Edmund Street, at the expense of Charles Wood, 1st Viscount Halifax.

The parish historically included Deepdale, Garrowby, Hanging Grimston, Mill Houses, Painsthorpe and Uncleby.

Today the church is part of the benefice of Garrowby Hill, along with Bishop Wilton, Bugthorpe, Full Sutton and Skirpenbeck.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1975 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1982, 1983 and 1993.

Note

There was a church at Kirby Underdale from the late eleventh century, when it was given to St Mary’s Abbey, York, by a monk named Hernegrim. The earliest known rector was Walter de Gaugy in 1229-1230. The church is unusually situated on the side of a steep hill below the village.

The abbey held the advowson of the church until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century, at which time it passed to the Crown.

The church, which is dedicated to All Saints, was restored in 1828 and then again in 1871 by George Edmund Street, at the expense of Charles Wood, 1st Viscount Halifax.

The parish historically included Deepdale, Garrowby, Hanging Grimston, Mill Houses, Painsthorpe and Uncleby.

Today the church is part of the benefice of Garrowby Hill, along with Bishop Wilton, Bugthorpe, Full Sutton and Skirpenbeck.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1993.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1557-1900, marriages, 1557-1900, burials, 1557-1993, and banns, 1876-1894, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 717, 883, 1755, 1753, 1760).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 24.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193