This series includes records relating to: private and special views of the Primary Collection on paying days and Sundays, 1859-1870, including guest lists, correspondence and admission cards; one volume relating to Sunday opening, 1892-1896, including correspondence with other national museums and galleries and interested parties; and correspondence, papers and press cuttings relating to the reintroduction and abandonment of admission charges in 1974.
NPG - Admissions policy and procedure records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 1082 NPG75
- Dates of Creation1859 - ongoing
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description4 vols; 5 files; 1 doc
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The National Portrait Gallery admitted its first visitors in 1857 to its premises at 20 Great George Street. Admission was free but was by only by tickets collected in advance from London print sellers. The Gallery was open to the public on Wednesdays and Saturdays from 12-4pm, and 12-5pm in the summer. From 1858 the Gallery also opened for an additional 3 days over the Easter holidays, without tickets, and in 1860 admission tickets were abolished. In 1864 the opening hours were extended to 10-4 and 10-5. In 1865 opening was extended to Mondays, Wednesdays and Saturdays, 10am-6pm May-Sep, 10am-5pm Apr and Oct, and 10am-4pm Oct-Mar. The Gallery also added to its Easter special opening days by opening on Whit Monday and Boxing Day.
In 1870 the Gallery moved to new premises within the South Kensington Museum. The Gallery was then open to the public free of charge on Mondays, Wednesdays and Saturdays, and for a fee on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays, in accordance with the rest of the museum. In 1879 opening was extended again to every day except Friday and Sunday, free of charge.
In 1896 the Gallery's new building at St. Martin's Place was opened. It was open to visitors on Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Saturdays free of charge, and on Thursdays and Fridays for sixpence. The opening hours were 10-4 Nov-Feb, 10-5 in Mar and Oct, and 10-6 Apr-Sep. The Gallery also began to open on Sundays from 3-6pm, Mar-Oct, in line with other National Museums and Galleries. In 1900 Sunday opening was extended to 2.30-5.30pm. In 1909 Sunday opening was extended to the whole year.
From Nov 1915-Apr 1920 the portraits were evacuated and the Gallery was taken over as government offices for the duration of the First World War, so no visitors were admitted.
From Aug 1939-Jul 1945 the portraits were evacuated and the building taken over by the Government for the duation of the Second World War. Few visitors were admitted, except for a few special exhibitions.
In Jul 1945 when the Gallery re-opened, it was with limited opening hours, which were gradually extended, and the admission charge was dropped entirely.
In January 1974 the Gallery re-introduced charging an entrance free, every day, at the order of the Government. The charge was abandoned in March 1974 because of the drop in visitor numbers.
Available to view by appointment in the Heinz Archive and Library Public Study Room, to make an appointment contact Archive Reception . Although records are generally available for public consultation, some information in them, such as personal data or information supplied to the Gallery in confidence, may be restricted.
Other Finding Aids
The complete catalogue for this archive can be searched via the NPG Archive Catalogue .
Conditions Governing Use
Personal photography is permitted for research purposes only. Photocopying is not permitted.