- Annual reports, 1971–1974;
- Historical notes and related correspondence;
- Promotional material, 1940s–1990;
- Press cuttings, 1950–1990;
- Photographs: Glenugie Distillery, c1937–1982; Strathclyde Distillery, 1927–1990; Tormore Distillery, 1960–1990; Westthorne Complex, 1960s–1990; Long John (brand images), 1960s–1990.
Records of Long John International Ltd, distillers, Glasgow, Scotland
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Long John Distilleries Ltd was formed in 1927 as a subsidiary of the drinks company Seager Evans , to operate the latter's Scotch whisky distilling business. The company was renamed Long John International Ltd in 1971 . Long John was the name of a famous whisky brand. The company also operated the Glenugie Distillery near Peterhead , which existed in a variety of forms from 1831 until its closure in 1982 ; the Strathclyde Distillery in Glasgow , which was opened in 1927 and rebuilt 1973–1978 ; the Ben Nevis Distillery (purchased in 1980 ); Tormore Distillery, which opened in 1960 , and the blending, bottling and warehousing complex at Westthorn Farm, Glasgow , which was developed from 1955 . The company also operated the Laphroaig Distillery on Islay (see GB 0248 LAP: Records of D Johnston & Co (Laphroaig) Ltd ). In Long John International 1975 was acquired by Whitbread & Co Ltd . The company sold its Scotch whisky brands and distilleries to Allied–Lyons Ltd in 1990 .
Source: Craig, Charles, The Scotch Whisky Industry Record , (Index Publishing Ltd, Dumbarton, 1994).
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Conditions Governing Access
Gifted by Whitbread & Co Ltd.
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
No physical characteristics that affect the use of this material.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist.
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures.
The collection was previously stored by Whitbread & Co plc at their headquarters in London. It was gifted to the Scottish Brewing Archive in September 2001. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
Location of Originals
This material is original
No known publications using this material.
Description compiled in line with the following international standards: International Council on Archives, ISAD(G) Second Edition, September 1999 and National Council on Archives, Rules for the construction of personal, place and corporate names
Scotland is the location of all place names in the administrative/biographical history element, unless otherwise stated.
Collection catalogued by Iain Russell, Scottish Brewing Archive Archivist, 10 May 2007. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description by Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 29 March 2012. Catalogue edited by Iain Russell, Scottish Brewing Archive Archivist, 10 May 2007. Amended by Sam Maddra, Assistant Archivist (cataloguing), 21 January 2014.