Ebenezer Welsh Independent Chapel, Rhydyfelin, Records

Scope and Content

Ebenezer Welsh Independent Chapel, Rhydyfelin and Mari Alderman records comprising records of members and chapel history, c1852-1998

Administrative / Biographical History

Ebenezer Independent chapel was established in 1846 by members of Groeswen Independent chapel who had previously met at Ynys Farm, Rhydyfelin (Rhydfelen). The chapel was completely re-built in 1896 but closed in 1969. The building was demolished soon afterwards to make way for the reconstruction of the Cardiff to Merthyr Tydfil trunk road. Burials were transferred to Glyntaff Cemetery, Pontypridd; gravestones were destroyed.

Arrangement

Ebenezer Welsh Independent Chapel, Rhydyfelin and Mari Alderman records arranged chronologically by record series

Conditions Governing Access

No Restrictions

Acquisition Information

Deposited by a private individual, 2002

Other Finding Aids

A detailed catalogue is available

Archivist's Note

Compiled by Annabel Wickham for the ANW Project; Sources used: Glamorgan Record Office finding aids

Conditions Governing Use

Normal Glamorgan Record Office conditions apply

Appraisal Information

All records offered have been accepted and listed

Accruals

Accruals are possible