Minute books, 1924-56. Copies of The Stepnian, 1932-49; Stepney Jewish Club Chronicle; West Central Jewish Lads' Club Magazine; and The Bradian. Copies of Stepney Jewish Lads' Club Denzil Myer Magazine, Nov 1922 and Jul 1928. History of the Stepney Jewish Lads' Club, 1901-36 and three Stepney Jewish Lads' Club booklets, 1914-15 and n.d.; pamphlet issued in memory of Robert Asknew, 1901-40; address of B.L.Q.Henriques on 'The club and the religious problem', 1930, and A to Z of Judaism published by the Religious Advisory Committee, 1963. General correspondence files and correspondence with branches in Manchester and Sussex, 1954. Photographs of the Anglo-Jewish Youth cross country teams, of Anglo-Jewish Youth camps, of Major E.A.Myers of the Sixth City of London Rifles, and of the presentation to Oliver Lyttleton, chairman of the national appeal for boys' clubs, c.1934-49. Two caricatures, one being 'The sardine supper', a caricature of L.Goldberg, 1938.
Papers of the Stepney Jewish Lads' Club
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 738 MS 172
- Dates of Creation1924-1963
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description2 boxes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Stepney Jewish Lads' Club was founded in 1901. In 1960 it merged with the Cambridge and Hackney Associated Clubs, moved to Redbridge and became known as the East London Jewish Youth Centre.
The Special Collections Division is available for anyone to use, regardless of whether you are attached to an academic institution. Access to the Archives and Manuscripts and Rare Books reading room, however, is by prior appointment to access the manuscript material. See our website for more details.