York Place English Baptist Chapel records, 1830-1980, including minutes of church meetings, 1830-1947; correspondence, 1938-1980; members' rolls, 1855-1947; church magazines, 1901-1905.
York Place English Baptist Church Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 216 D/D Bap 30
- Dates of Creation1830-1980
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description(7 vols, 1 booklet, 26 items)
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Mount Pleasant English Baptist Chapel, Swansea was opened in 1826. In 1830 there were disagreements amongst the congregation concerning the selection of a minister and a group of 59 members left the church. At first they met a house called Bethel on the Strand, but in 1831 they purchased the former Congregational chapel in York Place for Â£900. The numbers attending the chapel increased and in 1841 it was licensed for the performance of marriages. Following the diamond jubilee of the chapel in 1906 the church was renovated and the schoolroom rebuilt. Further work on the building was carried out in 1929. The chapel produced a magazine called Our own messenger.
Arranged into the following: Minutes; Memebers' rolls; Magazines.
Conditions Governing Access
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Nonconformist, Baptist, York Place English Baptist Church, catalogue
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained.
Accruals are possible