Bucks & Oxon Union Bank records

Scope and Content

Records of Bucks & Oxon Union Bank relating to its establishment, operation, and subsequent amalgamation with Lloyds Bank, including:

  • Establishment (1850-1866): proposal for its establishment, partnership agreements, certificates of incorporation, memorandum and articles of association;
  • Operation (1853-1902): main board minutes; private ledger, balance sheets, monthly returns of assets and liabilities, staff reports and lists;
  • Amalgamation (1866-1904): amalgamation agreements, letters to shareholders and customers.

Administrative / Biographical History

This joint stock bank was formed in 1853 through the merger of three private banks: T. R. Cobb & Son of Banbury (est. 1783); Bartlett, Parrott & Co. of Buckingham (est. 1783); and Cobb, Wheatley & Co. of Aylesbury and Thame (est. 1795). Branches were opened at Watford (1856), Hemel Hempstead (1856), Watlington (1885), Chesham (1889), Wolverton (1892), Wealdstone (1895), Great Missenden (1895) and Watford (1898).

In the 1890s the bank was damaged by the depreciation of its gilt portfolio, from which it never fully recovered. It was taken over by Lloyds Bank in 1902.

Access Information

Access is by appointment only, and at the discretion of the Archivist. Please e-mail archives@lloydsbanking.com for further information.

Other Finding Aids

Item level catalogue available - please e-mail archives@lloydsbanking.com for further details.

Geographical Names