Journal, Quayside and office, 1919-21.
National Union of Docks, Wharves and Shipping Staffs
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 152 MSS.126/DWS
- Dates of Creation1919-1921
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description[ not recorded ]
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The union was founded as the Port of London Staff Association in 1909, becoming the Port of London Docks and Wharves Staff Association in 1917 and the National Union of Docks, Wharves and Shipping Staffs in 1919. It was a founder member of the Transport and General Workers' Union in 1922.
On joining the TGWU the membership formed a section called the Administrative, Clerical and Supervisory Group. In May 1939 a separate union was formed within the framework of the TGWU under the title of the National Association of Clerical and Supervisory Staffs.
Reference: K. Coates and T. Topham, The making of the labour movement. The formation of the Transport and General Workers' Union 1870-1922. Oxford : Basil Blackwell Ltd., 1991.
Conditions Governing Access
Prior written permission to consult the archive is required. Researchers should apply to the Mr R. Scott, TGWU, Transport House, Palace Street, London, SW1E 5JD.
The archive forms part of the larger Transport and General Workers' Union archive in the Centre. An authority file exists for this corporate body (GB 152 AAR178).
As a predecessor of the Transport and General Workers' Union the initial deposit was made in 1976 by that union. Accruals to the deposit are listed under the entry for the Transport and General Workers' Union (MSS.126/TG) . The archive has been deposited in the Centre on indefinite loan.