Scotch lace invoice book 1948-1949
Records of Cleland Brothers Co Ltd, textile manufacturers, Darvel, East Ayrshire, Scotland
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 UGD 279
- Dates of Creation1948-1949
- Name of Creator
- Physical Description0.08 metres
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Cleland Brothers & Co Ltd occupied premises at 3 Fleming Street, Darvel, East Ayrshire, Scotland, between 1892 and 1949. Originally known as Cleland, Campbell & Co, lace curtain manufacturers, the firm began as a partnership between James and William Cleland of 33 Granville Street, Glasgow, and Archibald Campbell of Paisley Road, Glasgow. By 1911 the firm had become Cleland Brothers & Co Ltd, the directors being John McGregor Cleland of Priestland Mill, Darvel, Andrew Cleland of Eddington, Townfoot, Darvel, and John Robertson Cleland of Donnington Street, Darvel.
Source: Valuation rolls for East Ayrshire, via Ayrshire Archives.
The arrangement of this material reflects the original order in which it was received
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited in August 1971 prior to the introduction of formal accessioning procedures
Other Finding Aids
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
None which affect the use of this material
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Archivist.
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures.
Location of Originals
This material is original
No known publications using this material
Description compiled in line with the following international standards: International Council on Archives, ISAD(G) Second Edition, September 1999and National Council on Archives, Rules for the construction of personal, place and corporate names
Scotland is the location of all place names in the administrative/biographical history element, unless otherwise stated.
Fonds level description compiled by Jenny Bunn, Assistant Archivist, 14 February 2000. Revised by David Powell, Hub Project Archivist, 11 December 2002. Lower level description compiled by Alexandra Healey, volunteer, June 2014.