Society records of the Methodist Church, Osbaldwick Wesleyan Methodist Chapel

Scope and Content

Records of Trustees, including meeting minute book, 1912-1918, and memorandum of choice and appointment of new trustees, 1912; list of title deeds and documents relating to the chapel and schoolroom, 1871-1938; certificate registering the chapel as a place of religious worship, 1871; draft conveyance of a piece of land adjoining the chapel, 1910; and poster concerning the laying of corner stones of the new chapel, 1871.

Administrative / Biographical History

A Methodist Society was founded in Osbaldwick in 1813. Meetings were initially held in private houses and it was not until 1871 that a permanent chapel was built on a piece of land opposite the Moat Field, donated by Thomas Allis, a Quaker and Superintendent of The Retreat hospital, York.

The chapel was renovated in 1899 to include a new organ, and extended in 1918 to create additional space for a schoolroom. At its height, the chapel ran a popular Sunday School and youth choir.

However by the 1930s attendance had dwindled and in 1937 the remaining congregation were transferred to St George's Methodist Chapel on Millfield Lane, York. In 1938 the chapel was purchased by St Thomas Church of England Parochial Church Council for parish use. It was sold again in 1969 to Osbaldwick Parish Council for community use.

Originally part of the York, New Street Circuit (later renamed Clifton Circuit), Osbaldwick was transferred to the new York, Centenary Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion at its creation in 1888.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in the 1980s.

Note

A Methodist Society was founded in Osbaldwick in 1813. Meetings were initially held in private houses and it was not until 1871 that a permanent chapel was built on a piece of land opposite the Moat Field, donated by Thomas Allis, a Quaker and Superintendent of The Retreat hospital, York.

The chapel was renovated in 1899 to include a new organ, and extended in 1918 to create additional space for a schoolroom. At its height, the chapel ran a popular Sunday School and youth choir.

However by the 1930s attendance had dwindled and in 1937 the remaining congregation were transferred to St George's Methodist Chapel on Millfield Lane, York. In 1938 the chapel was purchased by St Thomas Church of England Parochial Church Council for parish use. It was sold again in 1969 to Osbaldwick Parish Council for community use.

Originally part of the York, New Street Circuit (later renamed Clifton Circuit), Osbaldwick was transferred to the new York, Centenary Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion at its creation in 1888.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 28.11.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Related Material

Circuit records of York, New Street and York, Centenary Circuits of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion are deposited at the Borthwick Institute.

Additional Information

Published

GB193