Letters and Portraits of Presidents of the Wesleyan Conference

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 133 Eng MS 865
  • Dates of Creation
  • Name of Creator
  • Physical Description
      333 x 260 mm. 1 volume (80 items enclosed loose); Binding: half-bound in red morocco, grained cloth-covered boards.

Scope and Content

The volume contains autograph letters and portraits of most of the presidents of the Wesleyan Conference, from Alexander Mather (1792) to Marshall Hartley (1903), arranged in chronological order of presidency. By no means all the letters were written by presidents during their year in office: many were written several years before or after their terms, but have been chosen merely as examples of their writings. Some of the later letters are addressed to Thursfield-Smith himself.