Diocesan Dilapidations Board (closed 1974. Responsibilities transferred to the York Diocesan Parsonages Board)

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 193 Dilap; GB 193 DO/EDM; GB 193 EDA
  • Dates of Creation
      c1871-1985
  • Language of Material
      English.
  • Physical Description
      c216 boxes, c 15 volumes & c3 files. Bound volumes, files, loose papers

Scope and Content

The records are arranged into 23 series as follows:

  • Minute Books, 1924-1973
  • Dilapidations registers, 1924-1952
  • Cash Books, 1925-1974
  • Board correspondence, 19th century-1973 (some unlisted)
  • General administrative papers, 1920s-1973
  • Schedule books, 1905-1926 [Dilaps ED.SB]
  • Secretaryship letters, 1910
  • Certificates of appointment of diocesan surveyors, 1899-1907 [Dilaps ED.DS]
  • Surveyors' reports, 1872-1926 [Dilaps ED.SR]
  • Surveyors' completion certificates, 1882-1911 [Dilaps ED.CC]
  • Surveyors' files, 1924-1957
  • Surveyors' accounts & vouchers, 1932-1973
  • Schemes & commissions, 1949-1951, 1951-1956, 1959-1972
  • Capital expenditure scheme, 1963-1966
  • Lists of benefices, 1924-1963
  • Insurance schedules, 1960s
  • Insurance correspondence, 1924-1973
  • Parish files, correspondence & papers arranged by parish, 1920s-1950s
  • Capital expenditure scheme parish files, 1960s - 1970s
  • Miscellaneous accounts, 1924-1968
  • Account books & lists of certificates, 1871-1966
  • Files relating to the repair of chancels under he Ecclesiastical Dilapidations Measure (1923), 1925-1985 [DO/EDM]
  • Unlisted papers (Board Meeting papers, 1952-1973; precedent papers, drafts & forms 19th & 20th centuries; Measures Administration Rates, n.d; Exemption certificates, 1885-1887; Parsonages for proposed further capital expenditure; Ecclesiastical Dilapidations Measure Quniquennial surveys; Grants Book).

Administrative / Biographical History

The incumbent's liability for dilapidations was regulated by the Ecclesiastical Dilapidations Act 1871 which enabled periodic inspections of church buildings and provided a central fund from which money for maintenance & repairs could be drawn. This statute remained in force until 1923 when the Ecclesiastical Dilapidations Measure was passed by the Church Assembly, resulting in the appointment of Diocesan Dilapidations Boards. The York Diocesan Dilapidations Board held its first meeting in August 1924. The Board was reconstituted as the York Diocesan Parsonages Board in 1974, following the Repair of Benefice Buildings Measure of 1972 (see Borthwick reference GB 193 DO/PB).

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy summery list of files relating to the repair of chancels under the Ecclesiastical Dilapidations Measure (1923) [GB 193 DO/EDM] is available at the Borthwick Institute.

A hard copy list of parish files with place name index is available at the Borthwick Institute.