Parish records of Wilberfoss

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1618-1665, 1678-1978; register of marriages, 1618-1665, 1678-1989; register of burials, 1618-1665, 1678-1978; register of banns, 1824-1992; register of services, 1922-1974, 1978-2001; register of confirmations, 1950-1959; records concerning benefice income, including accounts, 1856-1870, with note of contents of farm, and correspondence, 1935-1972; charity records, including scheme for parish lands, 1883, and correspondence, 1958; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1752-1953, 1956-1964, briefs, 1678-1703, assessment, 1679, fabric papers, 1920-1983, and churchyard papers, 1914-1929; records of incumbents, including dilapidations papers, 1935-1971, and parsonage house papers, 1974; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including 'Wilberfoss Past and Present' produced by Social Circle, 1978; school records, including terrier, 1930, and insurance papers, n.d; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1923-1964, 1974.

Administrative / Biographical History

There was a church at Wilberfoss from at least the mid twelfth century when it was given, together with its chapel at Newton upon Derwent, to Wilberfoss Priory. The gift was confirmed in 1233 and the church was appropriated to the Priory, although no vicarage was ordained there.

The advowson was held by the Priory until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century, at which time the patronage passed to the lords of the manor of Catton. By the 1820s it was held by the Wilberforce family. The patronage was transferred to the Archbishop of York in the 1950s.

The living was augmented through Queen Anne’s Bounty in 1764, 1786 and 1810 and by parliamentary grant in 1819. Part of the 1819 grant was used to purchase a parsonage house, which was later sold in 1936. After 1872 the benefice was styled a vicarage and in 1959 it was united with that of Kexby.

The present parish church is dedicated to St John the Baptist and dates to the twelfth century, with a thirteenth century arcade in the nave and a fifteenth century aisle, porch and tower. It was restored in 1868-1869.

Today the parish, which still includes Newton upon Derwent, is part of the benefice of Wilberfoss with Kexby.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1963 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1975, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1996 and 2015.

Note

There was a church at Wilberfoss from at least the mid twelfth century when it was given, together with its chapel at Newton upon Derwent, to Wilberfoss Priory. The gift was confirmed in 1233 and the church was appropriated to the Priory, although no vicarage was ordained there.

The advowson was held by the Priory until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century, at which time the patronage passed to the lords of the manor of Catton. By the 1820s it was held by the Wilberforce family. The patronage was transferred to the Archbishop of York in the 1950s.

The living was augmented through Queen Anne’s Bounty in 1764, 1786 and 1810 and by parliamentary grant in 1819. Part of the 1819 grant was used to purchase a parsonage house, which was later sold in 1936. After 1872 the benefice was styled a vicarage and in 1959 it was united with that of Kexby.

The present parish church is dedicated to St John the Baptist and dates to the twelfth century, with a thirteenth century arcade in the nave and a fifteenth century aisle, porch and tower. It was restored in 1868-1869.

Today the parish, which still includes Newton upon Derwent, is part of the benefice of Wilberfoss with Kexby.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2015.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, marriages and burials, 1618-1900, and banns, 1724-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 816, 1756, 1760).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 21.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193