Minute books, 1865-1975 (11 vols.); visitors' book, 1868-1905 (1 vol.); and receipt, expenditure and donations book, 1927-34 (1 vol.).
Papers of the Jewish Deaf and Dumb Children's Home, London
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Home for Indigent Jewish Deaf and Dumb Children was founded in 1865. The preliminary meeting of 1 November 1865 resolved that `an institution be established for the reception, maintenance and education of the deaf and dumb children of the poor of the Jewish community'. Assur H.Moses was appointed as President. The Home was initially established in a house at 44 Burton Crescent. From 1975, the home has been administered as part of the Norwood Ravenscroft charity.
Conditions Governing Access
Open for consultation
Compiled by Gwennyth Anderson
Other Finding Aids