Tylorstown Lodge

Scope and Content

Minute books 1958-1961; Lodge standing orders c.1960; Correspondence 1959-1961; Copy agreement between N.C.B and N.U.M.1960

Administrative / Biographical History

Tylorstown Lodge was a branch of the National Union of Mineworkers (South Wales Area). The Lodge represented miners from the Tylorstown Colliery in the Rhondda Fach Valley. Each of the four Tylorstown pits had originally been sunk as part of Ferndale Colliery (Nos. 6 to 9) between 1892 and 1907. The colliery covered a large area and as a result, each pit developed their own identity. This resulted in the establishment of separate lodges for each pit although regular joint meetings were held for the whole Tylorstown district.

In 1913, the Tylorstown Lodges began to discuss the possibility of amalgamation in order to create a single lodge to represent Tylorstown Colliery. The lodges finally amalgamated in January 1914 to form the Tylorstown United Lodge.

Tylorstown Lodge was very involved in socialist activities and developed a strong relationship with members of the neighbouring Lodges at Ferndale and Mardy.

Tylorstown Lodge held their final general meeting on 28 July 1961. This officially closed the Lodge and allowed the committee to transfer all lodge finances to Mardy Lodge.

Access Information

Access unrestricted unless stated otherwise.

Other Finding Aids

A hardcopy list is available in the searchroom.

Conditions Governing Use

A photocopying service is available. Contact repository for details.

No publication without written permission from the Archivist.

Geographical Names