Manors of Neath and Afan

Scope and Content

Manors of Avon, Avon Wallia, Caegurwen, Neath, Neath Citra and Britton. Neath Ultra and Cilybebyll; Manor of Avon Wallia (parishes of Baglan Higher and Lower, Blaengwrach, Clyne, Glyncorrwg and Michaelston-super-Avan); Manor of Caegurwen (part of the parish of Llangiwg); Manors of Neath Citra and Britton (parishes of Briton Ferry and Llantwit-juxta-Neath); Manor of Neath Ultra and Cilybebyll (parishes of Cadoxton-juxta-Neath, Cilybebyll, Dylais Higher and Lower, Neath Higher, Middle and Lower); Manor of Andrew le Motte, Cheshunt (Hertfordshire)

Administrative / Biographical History

The lordship of Neath included the Nedd-Tawe area together with Neath Burgus, Neath Citra and Briton. Neath Burgus is the name for the manor of the Borough of Neath, which shared approximately the boundaries of the ancient parish of Neath. Neath Citra and Briton is the name of a manor that included the parish of Briton Ferry and the Llantwit Lower division of the parish of Llantwit-juxta-Neath. In the Lordship of Glamorgan. Neath Ultra and Cilybebyll is the name of a manor that included the parish of Cilybebyll and the Dulais Higher, Dulais Lower, Neath Higher, Neath Middle and Neath Lower divisions of the parish of Cadoxton-juxta-Neath. In the Lordship of Glamorgan. Avon Wallia is a manor in the lordship of Glamorgan consisting of the parishes of Glyncorrwg, Michaelston-super-Avon and Baglan, and the Clyne division of Llantwit-juxta-Neath parish.

Access Information

No restrictions

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records received by the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained


Accruals are not expected.