This archive contains papers and publications created by various departments, students and staff of Trinity College of Music (and its precursors).
Trinity College of Music Archive
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 2649 JL-COLL-TCM
- Dates of Creation1872-2005
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description130 linear metres
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Trinity College of Music was established in 1872 as the Church Choral Society and College of Church Music by the Reverend Henry George Bonavia Hunt and Sir Frederick A. Gore Ouseley. The college was incorporated as Trinity College London in 1875, and changed its name to Trinity College of Music in 1904. Local examinations and diplomas were administered by the college from 1877 until 1992 when Trinity College London was established as a separate company. In 2005 Trinity College of Music merged with the Laban Dance Centre to become Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance.
Conditions Governing Access
By appointment: please contact us to arrange an appointment before visiting.
To make an appointment to access the collection, contact the Head Librarian, Claire Kidwell, email@example.com
Address: Jerwood Library of the Performing Arts,Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance,King Charles Court,Old Royal Naval College,Greenwich,London SE10 9JF
The material in this archive derives from numerous sources including direct from active departments or current members of staff, from alumni of the institution (staff and students), and from material housed in storage. Where known, the source of acquisition is noted in the relevant part of the description.
Many of the records in this archive had been moved around a number of times prior to description, some were disorganized and records management practices were not always effective when the records were current. The structure of this description is therefore largely artificial but is based on known organizational structures and workflows in consultation with former members of staff. Some material housed in the library had been listed, and other records in storage had reference numbers noted on boxes (though no corresponding listing was extant). These former reference numbers are noted in the description where relevant.