Industrial records of the Glasbrook family of Swansea,1812-1988, including of companies, 1898-1929; financial records, 1891-1916; rentals, 1894-1949; royalty and wayleave accounts, 1889-1927; inland revenue, estate duty and mineral rights duty, 1910-1936; deeds and agreements, tenders and contracts, 1812-1988; property sales at Pontardulais, 1903; wills and trusts, 1887-1966; marriage settlements of David Sydney Mortimer Glasbrook and Pamela Erskine Luard of Wardes, Kent, 1931; civil registration, 1940; plans, 1883-1927; investments, 1888-1954; insurance, 1900-1963; HM Land Registry charge certificate concerning Sutton Farm, Llandow, 1887-1979; correspondence, 1878-1964, including letter book including accounts and statistical information, 1878- 1911; collieries reports, 1895-1913; bills of cost, 1882-1924; inventories, 1900; Acts of Parliaments, 1909-1919; indexed letter books, relating to the Glasbrook estates and the Birchrock Colliery, 1889-1932; registers of investments, 1900-1949; cashbook, 1868-1955; balance sheets, 1871-1944; correspondence files, 1935-1966; receipts, 1877-1898; deeds, 1876-1942
Glasbrook family of Swansea Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
John Glasbrook was a successful colliery owner working collieries such as Beaufort Colliery, Birchrock Coal Company and the Garngoch Collieries. His industrial interests also included the Messrs. John Glasbrook, Sons & Co., Timber Merchants of Swansea, Glasbrook's Brick and Tile Co. of Forestfach and John Glasbrook, Sons and Co., Cambrian Steam Saw Mills, South Dock, importers of timber and slate merchants. When Phillip Richard, co-partner and brother-in-law died in 1878, he took over Morriston Collieries. He purchased Brynmor House in Swansea in 1850, and acquired land on both sides of the Glamorgan/Carmarthenshire border, including farms in the parishes of Llangyfelach, Llandeilo Talybont, Loughor, Swansea, Llandybie and Llanelli. When he died in 1887 he appointed his five sons, Thomas (d. 1892), John, Isaac Thomas [d. c.1912], David Mansell (d. 1933) and Sydney Edward [d. c.1896] joint trustees of his property. They traded together in partnership as colliery proprietors known as Glasbrook Brothers in 1892. In 1898, the Glasbrook Brothers, Limited was incorporated and in 1908, it became a private company. Bryn-y-mor estate was put for sale by auction by W J Rees in 1909. John Glasbrook Sons and Company Limited was wound up voluntarily in 1929. The brothers continued to administer the Messrs Glasbrook Bros Ltd estate until the last brother, David Mansell, died in 1933.
Arranged into the following : companies; financial records; rentals; royalty and wayleave accounts; inland revenue, estate duty and mineral rights duty; deeds; property sales; wills and trusts; marriage settlements; civil registration; plans; investments; insurance; HM Land Registry; correspondence; reports; bills of cost; inventories; Acts of Parliaments; letterbooks; registers; cashbook; balance sheet; correspondence; receipts
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Seri Crawley for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Glasbrook family of Swansea Records;
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright laws apply.
Usual copyright regulations apply.
Information not available
Accruals are not expected.