Parish records of Scampston

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1783-1992; register of marriages, 1756-1836, 1839-1950, 1954-1990; register of banns, 1756-1803, 1805, 1864; register of services, 1928-1967; register of communicants, 1955; records concerning benefice income, including correspondence and papers, 1832, 1901-1902, 1946, 1953, and sequestration order, 1842; charity correspondence, 1950; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1737-1840, rates, 1737-1840, fabric papers, 1946-1955, and Rillington accounts, 1814-1825; constables’ accounts and assessments, 1730-1845; records of incumbents, including notes on glebe fields, cottages and other items, n.d. [early 18th century], appointment of curate at Knapton, 1708, and dilapidations papers, 1935-1950; overseers’ records, including accounts, 1775-1848, and rates, 1775-1837; school correspondence, 1947-1948; surveyors’ accounts and assessments, 1845-1851; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including map and book of reference for proposed route of York and Scarborough railway through Scampston, 1844, and minutes of meetings, 1920-1953, 1964-1972.

Administrative / Biographical History

Scampston was a chapelry in the parish of Rillington until 1766. Prior to this, baptisms and marriages could be performed at Scampston but burials took place at Rillington.

The old chapel, which was mentioned as early as 1330, was demolished in the early 1840s and a new church was built in 1845 by the architect George Townsend Andrews. The church, dedicated to St Martin, was built at the expense of Colonel William and Louisa St Quintin of Scampston. A rood screen, stalls, altar and pulpit designed by Temple Moore were donated by William Herbert St Quintin in 1906.

The living was augmented through Queen Anne's Bounty in 1766, 1783, 1790, 1810, 1820 and 1826, and by parliamentary grant in 1810 and 1817.

Today the parish is known as Scampston with Wintringham. It is part of the united benefice of Buckrose Carr, which also includes Rillington, Sherburn, Thorpe Bassett, West Heslerton and Yedingham.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1964 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1980, 1984, 1992 and 1993.

Note

Scampston was a chapelry in the parish of Rillington until 1766. Prior to this, baptisms and marriages could be performed at Scampston but burials took place at Rillington.

The old chapel, which was mentioned as early as 1330, was demolished in the early 1840s and a new church was built in 1845 by the architect George Townsend Andrews. The church, dedicated to St Martin, was built at the expense of Colonel William and Louisa St Quintin of Scampston. A rood screen, stalls, altar and pulpit designed by Temple Moore were donated by William Herbert St Quintin in 1906.

The living was augmented through Queen Anne's Bounty in 1766, 1783, 1790, 1810, 1820 and 1826, and by parliamentary grant in 1810 and 1817.

Today the parish is known as Scampston with Wintringham. It is part of the united benefice of Buckrose Carr, which also includes Rillington, Sherburn, Thorpe Bassett, West Heslerton and Yedingham.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1993.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of baptisms, 1783-1992, and marriages, 1756-1885, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 763, 1579).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 04.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

For burial registers and other records relating to Scampston, see the parish records of Rillington.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193