The content consists of minute books 1931-1973, memorandum and articles of association (1931), annual accounts 1961-1973, a cash book, 1966-1972, dividend lists 1968-1971 and a list of shareholders (January 1973). Further material includes a film logbook 1968-1972, committee correspondence, two newspaper cuttings and a Ramsey Amusement ‘Coming of Age’ Luncheon card 1951.
Historical records of the Ramsey Amusements Company Limited
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Ramsey Amusements Company Limited was established in 1931 by a group of business men with the intention to provide places of entertainment for both Ramsey residents and holiday makers. Their first venture saw the purchase (for £8,250) of Cinema House, Albert Road, Ramsey; it had been constructed by The Strand Cinema Company and opened in 1920. The second purchase was The Palace, Waterloo Road, Ramsey where various entertainments and rollerblading were held. Next to join the company’s portfolio was the open-air swimming pool with the addition of a ballroom in 1933. In 1935 a large reconstruction project occurred at the Palace which included a new cinema and the Palace complex was renamed to the Plaza Cinema. In 1936 the company had bought the Cosy Cinema, Castletown and purchased land in Port Erin with the intention of erecting a cinema (this did not materialize). After 1945 Queen’s Hall, Ramsey was added to the list of entertainment centres. The company’s final enterprise was the purchase of the Albion Hotel, Stanley Mount and its conversion into a block of flats renamed Ascog Hall. By the 1970s the business was declining and in 1972 the Plaza Cinema was sold to Ramsey Commissioners, with Mannin Entertainments taking over the lease. By January 1973 at an extraordinary general meeting Ramsey Amusements agreed to be voluntarily wound up and to permanently close its doors for business.
Conditions Governing Access
No regulations or restrictions are implemented on this material.
Advance notification of a research visit is advisable by emailing email@example.com.
The biographical information was gathered from the Manx newspaper the Isle of Man Examiner (23 June 1972) and the dissolved company file of Ramsey Amusements Co. Ltd, housed at the Public Record Office, Isle of Man. Reference number: S2/352. Isle of Man newspapers available online at http://www.newspapers.gov.im/Default/Skins/IOMDemo/Client.asp?skin=IOMDemo&enter=true&AppName=2.
Fonds-level description created by Eleanor Williams (MNH Project Archivist), January 2016.