Cwmbwrla Independent Chapel, Swansea, including minute books, 1917-1940; annual reports, 1919-1960; membership records, 1911-1964; correspondence, 1933-1966; accounts, 1930-1931; photographs, 1894-1964; programmes and tickets for events, 1914-1962; miscellaneous periodicals, 1946-1949; newspaper cuttings, 1964 and publications, 1936.
Cwmbwrla Independent Chapel, Swansea, Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The records are relating to Cwmbwrla Independent Chapel, Swansea. The cause began in the early years of the 19th century when services were held in a house at Pentregethin. In 1844, a Sunday School was built by members of Ebenezer chapel for worship at Cwmbwrla. In the year of 1861 the decision was made to establish a church, which drew the majority of its members from Ebenezer, with others from Bethlehem (Cadle) and Siloam (Pentre Estyll). Te chapel was built in 1862. The church closed in 1964. It was demolished soon afterwards to make way for road widening and the re-development of Cwmbwrla Square. Although given no official name, the chapel was known as Capel y GÃ¢t(gate chapel) from its position close to the site of a toll gate.
Arranged into the following: minute books, annual reports, membership records, correspondence, accounts, photographs, programmes and tickets for events, miscellaneous periodicals, newspaper cuttings, and publications.
Conditions Governing Access
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Annette Strauch for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Cwmbwrla Independent Chapel, Swansea, Records, catalogue.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records have been retained
Accrual are not expected