The parish of Holy Trinity, Oxford, was created from the southern part of Oxford St. Ebbes in the early 1840s, and the church was opened in 1845. It was situated on Blackfriars Road, and the architect was H.J. Underwood.
The parish was situated in one of the poorest quarters of the city, and was therefore never very wealthy; the church itself was constructed from cheap materials.
By the early 1950s, the church was in a very poor state of repair (see PAR193/11/C1/1), and the parish itself had been growing smaller, and was due for slum clearance. As a result, the parish of Holy Trinity was united with that of Oxford St. Aldates in 1956. The church itself was closed in 1954, and demolished in 1957. No trace of what was perhaps the most ephemeral church in Oxford now remains.
All the records for Oxford Holy Trinity were originally deposited with the Bodleian Library in 1975 by the then Rector of Oxford St. Aldates, and were transferred to Oxfordshire Archives in the 1980s. An Appendix provides a concordance of old and new references.
Recatalogued by Robin Darwall-Smith in November 1996.