The manuscripts fall into three categories: (i) papers relating to the administration of Cope's library 5/1 Catalogue of Sir William Cope's library: three large volumes, with slips pasted to them, largely in manuscript, but with some cut from a printed catalogue including Cope's shelfmarks from Bramshill: mid to late nineteenth century 5/2 A paper notebook, probably dating from the 1870s or 1880s, in the hand of Sir William Cope, listing 'Hampshire civil war tracts', together with a letter from Cope to [H.M.Gilbert], enclosing the notebook and offering him every assistance in the preparation of a new edition of his Bibliotheca Hantoniensis, 30 Jul 1889. 5/3 A notebook, in the hand of Sir William Cope, giving a list of books relating to Hampshire added to his library subsequent to 1879: late nineteenth century. 5/4 A notebook, containing an incomplete 'Index to Hampshire pamphlets with dates, authors, maps and illustrations': late nineteenth century. 5/5 Henry March Gilbert Bibliotheca Hantoniensis. An attempt at a bibliography of Hampshire (Southampton, c.1873). This large-paper edition of the book was issued interleaved and this copy has numerous additions and corrections in the hand of Sir William Cope, together with entries from other catalogues pasted in, and Bramshill shelfmarks. (ii) Cope family papers 5/6 Orderly book of Major John Mordaunt Cope (1731-70, eighth Baronet) of the North Hampshire Militia, giving the orders for each day, the place where the regiment was stationed and the parole for the day, 1 Jan 1760 - 31 Dec 1760. 5/7 Orderly book of Lieutenant Colonel John Mordaunt Cope of the North Hampshire Militia, 1 Jan 1761 - 31 Dec 1761 The two regiments of Hampshire Militia were first raised about 1757 and both were embodied continuously during the Seven Years War up to 1762. The North Hampshire Regiment were transferred to Bristol in 1760 to take charge of French prisoners, were at Bideford later in the year, and wintered at and around Newbury. They remained there till early in April, moved to Stockbridge for a few weeks, then to Andover, where they remained until July; from there they went to Reading and in October they returned to their base at Winchester. 5/8 Letter from J.C.Johnson, publisher of the Hampshire Chronicle, to Sir William Cope, about Mr Davis and the bookselling trade in Winchester some forty years previously, 9 Jan 1882. 5/9 A copy of Sir William H.Cope Bramshill: its history and architecture (London, n.d. c.1889), with a letter of 13 Jul 1889 from Cope to Cecil George Savile Foljambe, presenting the book to him. Included are two letters from Granville Leveson Gower to Foljambe, 1889, about the Cope family and printing London parish registers, together with a pedigree of the Copes. (iii) original manuscripts collected by Cope and subsequent additions to his collection. Hampshire and Isle of Wight manuscripts 5/10 Bible (London, 1655), belonging to Gilbert White and bound in the skin of Dash, a favourite spaniel of his mother, Anne; with some manuscript notes. 5/11 A guard book, prepared c.1817, containing an antiquary's extracts and notes, probably taken with a view to writing a history of the Reformation during the 1710s and 1720s, with passages taken from the Winchester episcopal registers and the Cottonian manuscripts, mainly relating to religious houses. Other sources include the records of the Prerogative Court of Canterbury, Balliol College Library, the Duke of Norfolk's library and the parliament rolls in the Tower of London. Early eighteenth century (with one reference to 1725). 5/12 Register of free scholars appointed or substituted for the free school at Rotherwick, 1712-1805: a manuscript volume of paper leaves bound in a parchment cover, entitled 'The book of assignment', 'A true and perfect account of the free scholars appointed to be taught to write and read in the free schoole of Rotherwick. Given by Frederick Tylney Esquire and opened or began on the 7th day of January 1711/12. Taught by Richard Waller.' Frederick Tylney (d. 1725), the lord of one of the manors of Rotherwick, built the school and endowed it with 10 p.a., nominating seventeen children (subsequently twenty), to be free scholars. The nominations were made by the lord of the manor and the curate. 5/13 Letter from Thomas Hasleden, Royal Academy [Portsmouth], about calendars, 27 Feb 1746/7. 14) Printed pamphlet, entitled A catalogue of all the household goods, &c. of Wm. Mackennan, Esq. ..... which will be sold at auction by Mr Lejeune on Tuesday the 21st of September, 1773, and the following days ..... (Southampton, 1773), with extensive manuscript annotations of prices and purchasers. 5/15 Thomas Gatehouse's manuscript history of Hampshire, entitled 'Hampshire or a short survey of the county of Southampton consisting of a description of the city of Winchester, boroughs, market-towns and hundreds in the said county with their respective distances from London. Also, of the foundations, endowments, and original state of the monasteries (of which there are now any remains) the cathedral, college, king's palace, and other public structures, with some account of their benefactions. Also, of the noblemen and gentlemen's seats (situated near any of the market-towns), and their present possessors. Likewise, a table shewing at sight, the distances of market-towns and other noted places, not only from one another, but also from London. With many remarkable anecdotes from the best authorities, and other particulars, worthy of notice. December 31 1778.' One volume, probably rebound in the 1950s, dedicated to James, Duke of Chandos. This is the earliest county history of Hampshire recorded. The work, largely a compilation from printed sources but containing some original materials, is by Thomas Gatehouse, who is probably to be identified with the occupant of Compton House, Bossington, near Romsey (p. 193 of the MS). Little is known of him save that he occupied Compton House until about 1791 (see W.Tunnicliff, topographical survey of the counties of Hants, Wilts., etc. (Salisbury, 1791) p. 19. Another copy of this manuscript was in existence at the time of the compilation of the Hampshire volumes of the Victoria History in the early 1900s and was then in the possession of Lord Swaythling. MS 5/15 was bought by Lord Brabourne on 3 May 1886 from the library of Leonard Hartley and was subsequently acquired by Sir William Cope and formed part of the bequest to the Hartley Institution. The history concludes with a ghost story, 'The Wallop latch', which circulated more widely in manuscript, e.g. British Library Tab. 436. b. 1. (37), Elizabeth Gatehouse and others, 'The Wallop latch [An account of alleged supernatural phenomena, attested by E.G. and others] For the amusement of the wit or the sceptic'. 5/16 Manuscript list of 'bishops, deans and prebendaries of Winchester continued from Mr Gale', covering the years 1715-66: n.d. late eighteenth or early nineteenth century. 5/17 Portsmouth and Sheet Turnpike Commissioners' minute book, Nov 1780 - 13 Apr 1782. A contemporary copy, written by a single hand, in one operation, in a gathering of 32 paper folios. Portsmouth and Sheet Turnpike Commissioners' Minute Book 1711-1754 ed. W.Albert and P.D.A.Harvey (Porstmouth Record Series 2; 1973) p. xxxv implies that the edited volume is the only survivor. There is also some material at Magdalen College, Oxford, connected with Edward Gibbon: Magdalen College, Oxford, MS 360: 28 accounts and receipts 1759-65, part of lot 439 purchased at Sotheby's sale of 12 December 1922 by R.T.Gunther (Edward Gibbon was treasurer of the trust). 5/18 Printed sale catalogue for the manor of Sherfield English, Hants, manor of Ditchford Friary, Warws., and Well House freehold, Berks. (between Reading and Blackwater), to be sold at auction by Mr Skinner and Co., 16 May 1783; with the manuscript opinion of counsel (Charles Bullar, of Lincoln's Inn) on the status of Well House Farm. 5/19 Order from the constables of Southampton to the churchwardens and overseers of the poor of that part of the parish of South Stoneham within which is situated the tithing of Portswood to raise 18 as its portion of the general county rate, 17 Jul 1790. 5/20 A manuscript volume containing the 'Proceedings upon the arbitrary removal or superseding of Mr James Randall, steward of the hospital of St Cross, Winchester, by Dr Lockman, the master, with the decree of the visitor, Brownlow North, Bishop of Winchester, and Sir William Scott's opinion on the case, 1790-1791': n.d. late eighteenth or early nineteenth century. 5/21 Small manuscript volume with paper covers, entitled 'Inscriptions in Winchfield church, Hants': n.d. early to mid- nineteenth century. 5/22 The Southampton guide: being a description of the ancient and present state of that town and neighbourhood (17th edition, T.Skelton, Southampton, 1802): an interleaved copy, with many manuscript notes, the first of which reads 'The MSS alterations in and additions to this edition are inserted in the following edition (viz.) the 18th.' (Southampton University Library printed books 52- 268238 is a copy of the revised, eighteenth edition). 5/23 A manuscript volume of poetry by Mrs Anne Lefroy (d. 1804), ne Brydges, wife of George Lefroy of Ashe, Hants, entitled 'Amicitiae in memoria. Poems on several occasions (the majority written in the early part of life) by Mrs Lefroy of Ashe in the county of Southampton ..... transcribed 1806'. The poems were transcribed by Mrs Lefroy's son, Christopher Edward Lefroy, and the contents of the volume are substantially the same as that edited by him as Carmina domestica; or poems on several occasions ..... by Mrs Lefroy (London, 1812). Another manuscript version of the poems, again compiled by C.E.Lefroy, probably c.1805, survives in private hands (see David Gilson, 'Jane Austen's verses', The book collector 33 (1984) p. 27. 5/24 Manuscript verses, entitled 'Occasional address on the opening of the Theatre Royal, Portsmouth', 12 Feb 18[18?]. Endorsed by Sir William Cope: 'Original ms. by Henry Slight of Portsmouth'. 5/25 A volume of paper leaves, containing a transcript, made c.1821, of three manuscript volumes by Sir John Oglander, written between 1617 and 1632, containing notes towards a history of the Isle of Wight. The volume contains a topographical survey and brief lives of prominent islanders, together with extracts from records and notes on customs and contemporary events, and an engraving of Sir John Oglander, April 1781. It was itself copied from a version of Oglander's manuscript made in 1794. W.H.Long The Oglander memoirs. Extracts from the manuscripts of Sir John Oglander (London, 1888), were printed from this manuscript, which is in turn but a portion of Oglander's journal (see A royalist's notebook. The commonplace book of Sir J.Oglander ed. F.Bamford (London, 1936) pp. xi-xiii). 5/26 'Poetical blossoms by John Henry Todd of Winchester': a manuscript volume of poetry, 1825, dedicated to the Duchess of Buckingham, with one letter inserted. 5/27 A manuscript volume, in the hand of J.P.Jones, labelled 'Plants of Hampshire'. The first page is entitled 'A catalogue of plants growing wild near Andover, and other parts of the county of Hants'. Jones has added the note 'This list was drawn up by the Honorable and Revd William Annesley AM, who resided at Ramridge near Andover, where he died November 1st 1830 aet. 35. Mr A. was a good botanist and accurate observer, and his habitats may be depended on. Where no particular locality is given, the habitat must be considered as being near Andover.' 5/28 'Account of Basing Castle and manor formerly belonging to the ancient family of De Port': a small paper pamphlet, in manuscript, by J.R.B., 16 Sep 1833. 5/29 Cuttings made by Sir William Cope from printed works, largely of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, relating to Bishops of Winchester; kept together by Cope under the shelfmark Pass. E. iv. 57, 'Fragments relating to the Bishops of Winchester'. 5/30 Manuscript notes, pamphlets, sermons and cuttings from printed works, largely of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, relating to Bishops of Winchester; kept together by Sir William Cope at Bramshill under the shelfmark Pass. E. iii. 34, together with other notes by Cope and further material on Hampshire, including an extract from a survey of Eversley parish (trees and timber at Bramshill), a letter from Samuel Wilberforce, Bishop of Winchester, to Cope, 30 June 1880, and an account of Hampshire rents received by Mr Lampard for the receiver for the year 1854. 5/31 Manuscript volume containing a copy of the charter of Charles I to Portsmouth, 17 Nov 1627: copy, mid-nineteenth century. 5/32 A volume containing a long poem, in manuscript: 'Elizabeth the fair prisoner of Carisbrook', mid-nineteenth century. 5/33 Manuscript notes on organs in Hampshire, mid-nineteenth century (post 1840). 5/34 A single sheet (headed paper for Swalcliffe Park, Banbury) containing a manuscript verse, the 'Tichborne Alphabet', n.d. mid-late nineteenth century. 5/35 Draft minutes taken at the foundation meeting of the Hampshire Archaeological and Natural History Society, 1866: two papers. 5/36 A volume of photographs of Southampton, with some of its environs and of Oxford and Cambridge, mainly c.1872, but with one of Southampton (of the site of the Hartley Institution), 1859. 5/37 A manuscript volume containing 'Memoranda extracted and copied from the memoranda by Lady Heathcote on the sepulchral urns found at Cranbury Common in 1882', late nineteenth century. 5/38 Lithographed letter from Sir Charles W.Wilson appealing for funds to build headquarters for the Southampton Gordon Boys Brigade, 24 May 1889. Poll books and election material. (Some of these items may have their origins in other collections of the Hartley Institution, some possibly in the records of the Corporation of Southampton.) 5/39 A poll book for the election for the town and county of Southampton in October 1733. The three candidates were Sir William Heathcote, Baronet, Anthony Henley and John Conduit. The first folio is headed 'A list of the names of all such persons as have a right to vote in the ellecion of members to serve in Parliament for the towne and county of Southampton vizt. the burgesses and inhabitants paying scott and lott October 2d 1733'. The book lists the burgesses followed by the inhabitants paying scot and lot for the parishes of Holy Rood, St Lawrence, St Michael, St John, All Saints, St Mary, and for Portswood. 5/40 Southampton (town and county): 13 state of the poll cards: (i) 31 Oct 1806-4 Nov 1806: 4 cards (ii) 18 Jun 1818- 22 Jun 1818: 6 cards, some for the same days, but in different type: 2 cards (the same), for day 3 (18 Jun); 3 cards (2 the same) for day 4 (19 Jun); 1 card for day 6 (22 Jun) (iii) 9 Mar 1820 and 14 Mar 1820: 2 cards (iv) one card soliciting votes on Monday 5 July for Mr Amyatt and Mr G.H.Rose. 5/41 Manuscript poll book for the Isle of Wight, December 1832. 5/42 A manuscript poll book, on a printed form, for 2 May 1859, for the parishes of St Lawrence and Holy Rood, Southampton, At a polling booth in the market, under the Audit House.
Manuscripts from the Cope collection, relating to Hampshire and the Isle of Wight
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 738 MS 5
- Dates of Creationc.1655-1889
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description8 boxes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Hampshire and Isle of Wight collections of Sir William Cope (1812-92), twelfth Baronet, of Bramshill, Hampshire, were bequeathed in 1892 to the Hartley Institution (administrative predecessor of the University of Southampton). Cope was the son of Lieutenant General E.R.Cope. He was educated at Trinity College, Dublin, where he obtained his BA in 1831 and subsequently at Magdalen Hall, Oxford, where he took his MA in 1840. He was a minor canon of Westminster Abbey from 1842 until 1852 and chaplain of Westminster Hospital from 1843 to 1851. He was the author, with Revd H.Stretton, of Visitatio infirmorum and editor of Sir Anthony Cope's Meditations on twenty select psalms (London, 1848). Cope's library contained a notable collection of medieval manuscripts and family papers, which have now been dispersed, as well as manuscripts relating to Hampshire and the Isle of Wight, which have passed to Southampton University Library along with the printed books, maps and engravings from Cope's Hampshire collection.
Conditions Governing Access
The Special Collections Division is available for anyone to use, regardless of whether you are attached to an academic institution. Access to the Archives and Manuscripts and Rare Books reading room, however, is by prior appointment to access the manuscript material. See our website for more details.
Other Finding Aids
Cope's manuscript collections are described (including MS 5/6-7) in HMC Third report (C673 of 1872) p. xvi and Appendix pp. 242-4; present locations are given (in part) in HMC Guides to sources for British history 3: the location of the collections described in the reports and calendars series 1870- 1980 (London, 1982) p. 14. A description of the bequest of the Hampshire and Isle of Wight collection is given in R.V.Turley, 'Sir William Cope and his remarkable collection', Hampshire Magazine 16 no. 4 (Feb 1976) pp. 45-7. The Cope family muniments are in the Hampshire Record Office 43M48/1-2847; 13M50/1-57; and 2M55/1-18.